What To Do When Your Readers Think You Have Stopped Blogging

1. Start liking and commenting on their posts. Show that you care about what they write, rebuild your relationships.
2. Start writing drafts to finish and post in the near future. Nothing says that you’re back like a plan for your future. 
3. Explain why you left, something moving and exciting, like you were away for a few months traveling, or you were busy doing a big project. Now this doesn’t necessarily mean that’s what you were doing, but you get the idea.
4. Don’t tell anyone you’re planning to write again. Mystery is your middle name now. You’re like BeyoncΓ© when she dropped her last album. 
5. Make it funny. Everyone loves a bit of humor. 
6. Add a witty quote or too about returning. Something like: 
“Most of American life consists of driving somewhere and then returning home, wondering why the hell you went. “–John Updike
The sappyier, the better. 
7. Promptly annouce your return on any/all social media platforms. Nothing says you’re truly back unless you’re bragging about it. 
8. Try to think of something cool/crazy to say here. At this point, most people have stopped reading, so you need something to get their attention back. WRITE IT IN CAPS. 
9. Hope that you’ve inspired someone to write a post like this, especially if they haven’t posted in a while too. 
and…
10. Write a post like this, because nothing says you’re back better than actually shoring up and writing something. Even if it’s not great, it’s yours, and you can always be proud of that. Trust me.
See you soon. 

12 thoughts on “What To Do When Your Readers Think You Have Stopped Blogging

  1. I read this post and thought, well this sounds interesting, and then I looked back to what you have previously posted and it’s along those same lines. And the thing is, I’ve been in the same boat for quite some time now. When I first started blogging I was all ready to go, thinking of a whole bunch of things to talk about. Then the new-ness started wearing off and things became a little bit harder for me. Short breaks here and there helped some, but these past few months my blog has pretty much come to a stand still. I really do want to pick it back up, but I just can’t find the right words to get me back on track it seems.
    Sometimes I think it’s all about finding something that compells you so strongly to write about it, that you just do. But at other times I think that I just just give myself a proverbial kick up the butt and just get my gears going NOW.
    I still haven’t really figured out what my solution will be, but maybe we can find it together πŸ˜‰ or in any case, if you find what works for you, let me know and maybe it’ll work for me too πŸ™‚

    Hope you are doing well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, thank you so much for your comment! And honestly, I couldn’t agree more with what you wrote, as I was in the same situation! I’ll definitely you know how a solution goes, and any help would be greatly appreciated! And please keep me updated, I’d love to keep hearing for you! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Well at the moment I’m on number 1! I’m returning from what seems like a veeeeeeeeery long break where I’ve had no enthusiasm to blog. I’m not sure I’ve regained it but I’m going to try. I’ve signed up for the two week WordPress poet course and I have some photos I’d like to upload. So here’s to the future πŸ™‚ Loving the new post lists btw! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

