Writer’s Block (Or, How I’m Trying To Get My Mojo Back)

Happy Wednesday!

We’ve all be there. Sitting hunched over a notebook or computer, pen/mouse in hand, waiting for anything to pop into your mind, to be able to write it down. But there’s nothing but crickets and tumbleweeds obscuring your imagination.

This can be a daily issue, or something that occurs once in a blue moon.

Writer’s block is one of the worst things that can happen, but the silver lining to it is that some of the best, most creative ideas come out of writers block. Other times, not-so-great ideas can occur, which can frustrate a writer even more.

Writer’s block can include any type of writing, wether it be personal or public, poetry or a short story, writer’s block effects everyone at some point in time?

So, the big question is…how do you deal with it?

I don’t have an answer, but I definitely know you do.

So, gimme your best suggestions on how to deal with writers’ block!

Have a great Wednesday!
xxoo

22 thoughts on “Writer’s Block (Or, How I’m Trying To Get My Mojo Back)

  1. I’m sorry you’re having writer’s block, Samantha! I don’t know where I picked up this tip, but I just start typing the first things that come into my head…even if it’s my name is Jenny, I like pink, blah, blah, blah…it usually turns into something of interest, and if not, at least it’s reminding my fingers of how much they like to type šŸ™‚ I also try to make a note of any possible good idea (seems very “duh”, but sometimes you just assume you’ll remember). When I sit down to write, I use that tiny idea as the first few sentences for the above exercise, and see where it goes. If that doesn’t help, at least you know you have a friend in writer’s block. Good luck!

    Like

  2. I try to do something else that is creative in the same vein. So I will blog about it (check, you’ve done that already!), I spend a few hours in Rdio or Spotify looking for music that would be playing the background of a scene I’m stuck on. Or I start Pinterest-ing clothing that would be worn by my characters in a scene. That kind of stuff seems to help. Best of luck!

    Like

  3. One of the things I do is Prime the pump. For me, that’s what my blog is for. I almost always have a life situation that I can turn into a blog post and from that quite often I end up with things I can use for other things. If the blog doesn’t do it for you, then try this (an exercise I developed to use in my coaching for new writers business) – listen to a song you really like; print out or write the lyrics. Does the song tell a story or prompt an idea for a story? As you listen to it / read the lyrics, write whatever comes to mind. Do this for a set amount of minutes. Take a break, come back and read what you wrote. Circle things that pop out as potentially useful for works in progress or starters for future writing. Transfer those into a file or note book so you can refer back to them the next time you feel blocked. šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. This is amazing advice! Sadly, because I’m on the younger side, I don’t know if I have enough “life situations” to write about at the moment. However, I really like the printing/reading music idea, not only because it seems helpful, but because it looks like a lot of fun! I also always keep a pen/paper/notebook handy in case something inspiring pops up šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Give your self some credit – you probably have more life stuff to write about than I do, lol – you’re young enough to still be exploring, asking questions, wondering why life is the way it is, or at least I hope so. Quite often as we age, we stop asking questions – not necessarily a good thing to do. Anyway, glad you found the suggestion helpful. Looking forward to reading what kinds of things you come up with to write about.

        Like

  4. While you tap from a drained well
    hearing crickets play their tune
    it is music in the making.

    Change the note and be that empty well getting filled with what is around you. A singing bird or as mentioned a colour pink.
    Every word or everything can become inspiration.

    Just the first sentence I did is just what can become a poem. Small pieces become a whole, don’t be afraid to write stuff in all shapes and sizes. Just Like Hijennybrown said.

    Keep smiling, soon your well will be flooding again

    Like

  5. I hope I don’t come off as sadistic, but I LOVE that you have this problem! šŸ˜€ It’s actually very beneficial; creative people (i.e. writers, singers, etc.) give so much energy and expend so many ideas that they actually need time to “recharge” and reboot.

    Here’s my Bust-The-Blocks-Brainstorm:
    1) Take a walk/go outside. Getting fresh air can “air out” some space in your mind so that you can receive fresh, colorful new ideas.
    2) Coffee break.
    3) Mini dance party.
    4) Nap. Or meditate. Or both?
    5) Stimulating conversation with friends and like-minded souls–that can REALLY spark some fabulous writing mojo. šŸ˜‰
    6) Trust that you’ll get back into the writer’s flow…after all, it happens to ALL of us!

    Hope this helps, and well-wishes to getting back on your writing path, my dear. šŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Chris, this made me smile and laugh. Thank you so much for the advice (which I will definitely put to good use, I promise). And your idea about creative people needed time to rest and recharge is totally accurate! šŸ™‚

      Like

  6. If you usually have music playing, it can be an inspiration for the blog. My O.C.T.O.B.E.R. and M.A.P.L.E. challenges this year have almost entirely been based off music prompting me each day. It might be the title of the song, it may be a lyric within the song, or something else entirely. You never know!

    Like

  7. I just let it go alone … I don’t like to force things, if I don’t have the reason, or the muse, or the desire to write something, I just let it go, at least, you become accostumed to that. My biggest writer’s block last 7 years, lot of time, eh ?

    Like

What Do You Think?

