I Am Not A Poet (Or, Why I Don’t Claim To Be)

Happy Monday.

I cannot call myself a poet. Yes, I love poetry, and I love reading/writing it, but I refuse to call myself a poet.

Why?

Because I feel that the second you give yourself a name or a label, you are branded with it. You are now known as a poet, and that means people expect poems from you.

It’s the same thing with any career. Are you in business? Then you, my friend, are a businessman. Are you involved with teaching? Then you must be a teacher.

There are so many different ways we can describe what we love and what we want to do other than our labels. The world is not simply black and white, nor are we, so our labels shouldn’t have to be also.

Have a great Monday!
xxoo

10 thoughts on “I Am Not A Poet (Or, Why I Don’t Claim To Be)

  1. I was listening to the radio a few weeks ago, and they talked about “non-traditional job titles.” I feel that this also applies to other labels… they can be descriptive, but can also be alienating.

    Like

What Do You Think?

