I Want To Be WordPress Popular (Don’t You?)

Happy Friday!

Everyone wants to be liked, it’s simply human nature to want to be loved and liked by our peers. And sometimes we use different means to become liked, such as writing a blog that people read and enjoy.

But even if you’ve had some success, you’ll always want more, or want what you can’t have, simply because you feel the need to be more liked and respected.

Some people make blogging look easy, just type a few words about a popular subject, maybe add a cute photo or two, post and watch their notifications pile up. I sometimes wish that could be me, that more people would like and comment, and I know it’s a little s
elf-obsessed, but I feel that everyon, regardless has had the same wish sometime in their life.

Maybe the more we work to achieve this “popularity”, the less likely we are to obtain it. But it still would be nice, if only for a day.

So, what do you think about achieving success and popularity? I can’t wait to see what you have to write.

Have a great day!
xxoo

32 thoughts on “I Want To Be WordPress Popular (Don’t You?)

  1. SeΓ‘n Cooke

    I gave up on popularity for my blog a good while ago, mainly because the topics that it covers.

    The tricky thing is it’s hard to build popularity with blogging. You either get it right or you don’t. But blogging is also a long term commitment. In truth, you could try a new blog every month and see if your style, topics and layout works or not. If it doesn’t, move on to a new blog. If it does, happy days. But that goes against the very idea of blogging.

    So I guess in a lot of ways, the easiest way to be successful at blogging is to not want to be a blogger. πŸ˜›

    Like

    1. I think your blog is quite popular, and I always enjoy reading your posts!

      I agree with what your saying about blogging and popularity, and maybe one day, I could test that theory (i.e., creating a new blog each month, and see which one is most popular). That could be a fun social experiment! But it does indeed go against the overall idea of what a blog is.

      Haha, I think I agree with that, maybe to be a great blogger, you shouldn’t care about blogging! xxoo

      Like

      1. SeΓ‘n Cooke

        Why thank you! That’s really kind of you to say and means a lot. πŸ™‚
        I’ve considered doing it and come up against that barrier too. Someday… I agree with you about the desire to be popular, even if we don’t admit it. But I guess it comes down to the overall reason you blog.
        I always enjoy your posts and blog, it’s one of two that I actually keep an eye on regularly. So definitely don’t let popularity levels hold you back! πŸ˜€

        Like

      2. You’re welcome, you deserve it!

        I actually am now really interested in trying the new blog a month idea, but I also think it would require a fair amount of patience and free time, the latter of which I don’t have since I’m in college. I think if a blog is good to/for you, then it shouldn’t matter how popular it is.

        Wow. Thank you so much, and I won’t πŸ™‚ xxoo

        Like

      3. SeΓ‘n Cooke

        My blog suffered greatly in my final year of college, so I empathise with you there. I barely posted at all over the last year!
        Definitely agree with you there. πŸ™‚ I mainly started my blog to record my writing so I’d be more enthused to do it. It’s worked in that department, so everything else is a bonus. πŸ˜€

        Like

      4. The same happened to me, although I’m going into my third year. I barely posted this past semester!

        I started blogging because I needed a place where I could let out my inner thoughts and emotions, however recently, I’ve begun to share more of my writing! It’s always fun to receive feedback! xxoo

        Like

      5. SeΓ‘n Cooke

        Awesome! I nearly did Psychology. πŸ™‚ I did English with a minor in Philosophy, waiting to hear back about a Creative Writing Masters course. πŸ˜€ Best of luck with college!

        Like

      6. Thanks! I was planning to become an English major, but I changed my mind, although I still love it! I’m planning to take a Philosophy course soon, and I’m looking forward to it! A Creative Writing Masters’ course sounds amazing, good luck! πŸ™‚ xxoo

        Like

  2. I think that popularity doesn’t really matter. Quality over quantity, in the sense of the fact that I would rather have a small community of readers and commenters that will support my writing endeavors, as opposed to being popular and perhaps having my content suffer. I don’t want my blog to be a “see it once and I’m done” type of site.

    Like

    1. I agree with you, I’d overall rather have a small, but dedicated community than a large and uninvolved one! What I meant to mean was that I would one day like to havr a bigger group of readers who come back most days! xxoo

      Like

  3. i feel if you blog about something you’re passionate about,it has more chances to work,because when you’re passionate about something,you do find the time to write/blog and if you dont then your not as passionate about it as much you think you are.

    Like

  4. There is no formula for popularity. If you want to really shine, think of a way to be controversial. I hate to say this but popularity and notoriety nowadays are bedfellows.

    Like

      1. (laughs) You are great the way you are. Follow your own course and you will not falter. What is popularity if you are not happy if people recognize you so often and disturb your peace? Are you willing to sacrifice your privacy? That’s the question.
        Blessings,
        belsbror

        Like

  5. Yes, I think we all think of that at some point. And it may seem like a selfish and stupid thing to wish and that you are doing it for the wrong reason because fame isn’t everything, especially when you’re doing something that you’re passionate about, but I personally can’t deny the fact that it would be awesome for one’s work to get some recognition and see more people enjoy it. I always say that if I’d have fame, I’d prefer my work to be famous rather than me.
    But as long as the people that read you(even if they are only 3) enjoy the content and are inspired by it, everything else doesn’t matter that much.
    P.S. You are quite a little popular, I wish that I could at least get the recognition that you have.

    Like

    1. I agree with you completely! I would rather what I write and do become “famous”, rather than myself. I love it when people comment as well, because to me, it shows that they listen and care to what I have to say!

      And thank you, I enjoy reading your blog πŸ™‚ xxoo

      Like

  6. Have a like on me, I gave up on popularity years ago, I just write to amuse myself and hope that some people are inspired by my words…it seems some are, it’s a strange world!

    Like

  7. I ‘m enjoying blogging and I just hope that other people enjoy what I blog about. It’s as simple as that. It would be nice to be popular, but I’ll have to wait and see, takes a while to build up a new blog. On that note if you would like to visit my blog and see what I blog about, don’t let me stop you! I’m http://www.kyrosmagica.wordpress.com. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. when I started blogging, I was the same. I wanted to be more popular and famous on WordPress. I was reading many posts and commenting so people come back and comment on my posts and at some points I was complaining why that isn’t happening. well, a few good bloggers here taught me how to write because we want to write, because writing is part of who we are and that we don’t write because we want notifications and likes. So keep writing no matter what, one day you’ll be popular and you may not like it. πŸ™‚ be careful what you wish for! LOL

    Like

  9. Pingback: (240) – Why Writers Write | Till Graduation

What Do You Think?

