First Week On The Job (well, internship).

Happy Thursday!

So, before this week, I had never worked in an office. Sure, I worked during the summers, but it was either as a camp counselor or babysitting.

Babysitting is nothing like working in an office. The work environment is much more mature, with everyone going about their business with a sense of purpose and confidence. Enter me on my first day, 10 minutes late and dripping with sweat. While everyone was put together and polished, I stuck out like the intern I was.

Working in an office is not the most exciting job. I spent most of the week organizing papers and reorganizing binders, and today I worked on a spreadsheet. It’s not something most people would be excited about, and I am like most people.

However, despite the tedious work, lack of sleep, and occasional boredom, I’m not complaining. The company that hired me thought I would be good for the job, I get to explore the city I’m in,
and there’s a Starbucks right near me, which means lots of coffee, and people watching.

And since this is only week one, who knows what’s in store? Maybe next week, I’ll get to go on coffee runs for the actual employees.

So, what was your first internship/job, and what was it like?

Have a great day!
xxoo

10 thoughts on “First Week On The Job (well, internship).

  1. My first job was digging someone’s back yard for the house extension. We didn’t have any machinery. Just four guys with the shovels. I too was excited over the most common things, like the blue sunny sky with tiniest puff clouds in the morning and the dirty plastic bottle with water in the sweat-hot afternoon šŸ™‚

    Have fun on your journey! Looking forward to hear more.

    Like

  2. For my first internship, I got lucky and scored two of them. Both were virtual/online and took place last summer. One was with a grassroots social media site called CourseWorld.org, dedicated to providing college-level educational videos in the arts and humanities (philosophy, theatre, music, etc.). I basically found a gaggle of videos about how to sing, how to do music theory, etc. The other internship was with the glamorous and magical Astro Twins, Tali and Ophira Edut from Astrostyle.com! I learned how to promote their site through social media writing, and they gave me invaluable entrepreneurial advice and even showed me a few things about astrology and how to interact with an assortment of personalities (sound like real life yet?)

    Like

    1. Those both sound like amazing internships! It’s also helpful that they taught you a diverse skill set that can be applied to everyday life! Plus, it’s a bonus that you are interested in these subjects, and hopefully the internships further fueled your passion for them! šŸ™‚ xxoo

      Like

What Do You Think?

