Chapters 298 & 299: Almost To 300 & Social Media

Happy Saturday!

I didn’t realize it until today, but tomorrow will be my 300th post! (WOO!) So that’s my exciting news for the weekend πŸ™‚

The other thing I realized this weekend is that I use a lot of social media sites. Besides my WordPress account, I have a Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter (which isΒ @mssamanthajill), and a YouTube account.

It’s crazy how much time we spend on the computer/tablets/phones/etc., and all social media sites in general.

What do you think? Is this simply just a sign of the times, or is it going to become our future?

Have a great weekend! xxoo

Image

16 thoughts on “Chapters 298 & 299: Almost To 300 & Social Media

  1. I have a love/hate thing going with most social media sites. I keep thinking this one is that one social media too many. To be fair, I mostly think that about Google+, which I consistently fail to use. I have always just said no to Facebook.

    Twitter is moderately amusing from time to time so long as people aren’t livetweeting TV show reactions or drunk-tweeting, and I use tumblr as a photo repository every once in a blue moon. For better or worse I think these places (or whatever next generation social media sites & apps are bound to pop up) are here to stay. I prefer long-form journaling and blogging, but I realize I’m in the minority.

    There really is something out there for everyone, that’s the beauty of the profusion of social media outlets.

    Like

    1. I agree with your love/hate relationship with social media! Sometimes it’s nice to share an exciting event in your life, but some people take it too far by sharing every little though that is on their mind. It can be frustrating to have to constantly check it, but sometimes it’s the only way to know what is happening in a friends’ life!

      Drunk social media users are the worst, because anything they write does not make sense, and is automatically regretted the morning after!

      I know that most of these social media sites are here to stay, but I don’t know for how long πŸ™‚ xxoo

      Like

  2. Congratulations on the 300th post! Wow! As for social media, it is here to stay. Why not just enjoy it and try not to get lost it in. (Easy to say…) I love the different media for their individual personalities. I rarely can keep myself to Twitter 140 but it was fun to watch SharkNado while it trended there. FaceBook has become the place I make sure all my friends and family are okay. And it becomes a great place to learn about something new. Tumblr is more pictures for me, so far, but I am new. I realize that in my age group I am a minority that loves all of this (63). But I am retired and so have the time to meander all over the webs. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you, although it hasn’t happened yet!

      I like your perspective, as a member of the social media “minority”. In my case, since I’m 18, I’m in the majority of the social media users. It just goes to show that social media is present in many different age groups, and is utilized similarly by both the ‘minority’ and the ‘majority’ πŸ™‚ xxoo

      Like

  3. grindaline

    I believe it is a sign of the times.
    And the narcissistic future of humanity.
    Congratulations on 300!
    Looking forward to 301.
    But, then again.
    Who’s counting?

    Like

      1. grindaline

        Love your good attitude and great demeanor.
        You’ll go a long way and the journey will be most enjoyable.
        Bon Voyage!

        Like

  4. I too was using a lot of social networks and I don’t think its good for mental health as its not always easy to interpret meaning/tone just by reading as not everyone can portray what they mean in words. Obviously some people are just emotional vampires… πŸ™‚
    I have a twitter page for each blog plus my personal account, WordPress blogs, Pinterest and a Facebook account. However, I’ve been offline from Facebook for just over three weeks now, after I deactivated it. It took a while to get used to not checking for updates etc, but I’ve gone past that stage and notice the difference in time that I used to spend on there. Sometimes I miss not knowing what others are doing because all my family are on there and without it I know nothing. Their communication is via social networks and therefore I’m now out of the loop, but in a way, I prefer that. If they want to talk to me, they know how to contact me and if they don’t then that says it all! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I agree completely! Sometimes people today over-share on social media sites, which can cause issues!

      I mainly use Facebook to interact with friends and family, especially when I’m away at school, and it might be difficult to talk. Sometimes though, I power down for the day so I can relax and not have to worry about being in the loop πŸ˜€ xxoo

      Like

  5. I think that our heavy reliance on social media, as well as computers, is here to stay. It’s sort of sad, because it seems to be pushing “face-to-face” interaction out the window. It seems you can’t complete a social event without someone looking at their phone, which I think undermines the value of the social contact. (That’s one refreshing thing about Shabbat dinners at Northwestern.)

    It’s a thing of overexposure, I feel. Of the major social media, I only have a Facebook account, but I don’t know whether you consider a blog to be part of the social media.

    Like

    1. YES! I agree 110%! My parents are always saying to me that people don’t know how to talk face-to-face anymore due to social media. And it always annoys me when I’m talking to someone, and they’re looking at their phone! While sometimes it’s nice to connect with people who you can’t see face-to-face, it shouldn’t be something you rely on in place of actual conversation.

      I also have a Facebook, and I consider a blog to be a social media site, but in a lesser sense than say to Facebook or Twitter. xxoo

      Like

  6. Hi. I stopped by to thank you for ‘liking’ my Sunshine & Shadow’, and to read a bit of your words. You have a great variety of writings here and I found this one makes me think. Good work!

    Like

What Do You Think?

