Chapter 145: Note-taking & Gender-Role Breaking

Happy Monday!

I’ve just finished typing up my notes for my last class, although, it took a lot longer than expected. Guess I’ll just have to do some adding/editing tomorrow if needed.

I also just finished watching the newest episode of a YouTube series (“Becoming YouTube”). This episodes’ topic discussed girls on YouTube, and the social stigma/pressure that goes along with being a female. And it sparked something in my mind….because I am a girl, so does that mean that I have to follow along to the social standards while writing my blog? Should I have to talk about so-called “girly” things, like clothes & makeup? Or should I shy away from the “typical” routine? Have I changed posts in the past because of something I thought could be “controversial”?

While some of those questions are rhetorical, I can honestly say that I don’t care what gender my viewers are, male or female, I’m just happy to have any at all.

I’m not changing my writing or my topics for anyone, because I started this blog for myself, as a way to let out my thoughts, and I’m still continuing to do so. 

What do you think about social stigmas/standards when it comes to gender “roles” on the Internet? 

xxooImage

4 thoughts on “Chapter 145: Note-taking & Gender-Role Breaking

  1. There are lots of girls who have become popular on the internet through making videos about clothes and makeup. But I have found the best thing to do is talk about the stuff you like. Even if it isn’t typical “girly” things.

    Like

    1. I agree, even though I don’t make videos, I try to post about things that I’m interested in! It’s important to show your interests, because maybe they’ll inspire someone, or just because you enjoy talking about them! Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Like

  2. It would be pretty pointless to talk about make-up or clothes if that’s not what you’re into. my friends would laugh at me if they saw me blogging about any of that stuff because they are things I’m just not interested in. Plus I wouldn’t have anything to say about those things. This all makes it so I’m not in the slightest interested in blogging about these things. Plus I’m not really all that interested in finding people with whom I can have lengthy discussions about hair products, so I just don’t see the point. I do like finding people who I can discuss books with, which is why I blog about books 🙂

    Like

    1. My friends wouldn’t so much as laugh at me as they would be confused. Your comment helps to express the point I was trying to make, that it’s up to you to decide what you what to write about or take interest in. Like music or books, or whatever comes to mind! The more your find your interests, the more you’ll find other people who are interested in them as well 🙂

      Like

What Do You Think?

